2019 Leadership

The SMHC Board of Directors has a regularly-scheduled meeting on the first Monday each month. These are held at Tennessee Valley Unitarian Universalist Church. All SMHC members are welcome to attend the meetings. Visitors who are not members may attend, but will need a Board member to preapprove. Members, please contact a Board member (contact info in your member handbook) to confirm your attendance and to get meeting time and directions. Due to holidays and other reasons, Board meetings may be rescheduled or postponed, so please contact a director before attending. Contact information for our leadership can be found in our annual Handbook.



Brian Worley

Vice President

Diane Petrilla


Tim Bigelow

Communications Director

Cindy Spangler

Membership Secretary

George Ritter

Recording Secretary

Steve Dunkin


Executive Board

Pete Berntsen

Tim Bigelow

Steve Dunkin

Jean Gauger

Diane Petrilla

George Ritter

Will Skelton

Cindy Spangler

Ken Wise

Brian Worley

Taylor Weatherbee

Dale Potter


Committee Chairs

Harvey Broome Distinguished Service Award Committee

Mike Harrington

Appalachian Trail Maintainers Committee

George Ritter

Communications Committee

Cindy Spangler

Conservation Committee

Franklin LaFond

Nominating Committee

Brian Worley

Photography Committee

Brad Reese

Handbook Committee

George Ritter

Program Committee

Cindy Spangler, Steve Dunkin, co-chairs

Social Committee

Debbie Goddard


Administrative Positions

ATMC Newsletter Editor

Dianne Petrilla

SMHC Handbook Editors

Ken Wise, George Ritter

SMHC Newsletter Editor

Don Dunning

Email List Manager

Betty Glenn


Ken Wise

ATC SORO Regional Representatives

Cindy Spangler, Franklin LaFond

Stewardship Council Representative

Rebekah Young